father knows best.

Dear Dad,

I should be asleep right now.
I know that because you taught me the value of getting up at a decent hour instead of wasting my life on the Internet.

You turned 50 today.
I can say that because you never had any problem being honest about your age or tried to dye your hair or anything like that.

I sent you a card.
You probably haven’t gotten it yet because the U.S. Postal Service and I still don’t get along very well…mostly because I expect them to perform miracles and jet things across the country in the course of a day.

I made you a cake.
You can’t eat it because you’re 3000 miles away, so I did the next best thing…I brought it to my Bible study group and they ate it.

It seemed appropriate since you taught me the importance of both Bible study and “breaking bread” among Christians. Bread, cake, waffles…it works.

The hands are supposed to be "five zero" if that's not clear.

Thanks for being a reflection of my heavenly Father.

I love you. And I know you love me back. And I don’t think you’re old.

Happy Birthday.

About han-nah

I'm a little bit more every day.

Posted on September 17, 2011, in Reflections. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

